WERBUNG

Die Auswirkungen von Donepezil auf die Gehirnregionen

MEDIZINDie Auswirkungen von Donepezil auf die Gehirnregionen

Donepezil ist ein Acetylcholinesterase-Hemmer1. Acetylcholinesterase baut die ab Neurotransmitter Acetylcholin2, wodurch die Acetylcholin-Signalgebung im Gehirn reduziert wird. Acetylcholin (ACh) verbessert die Kodierung neuer Erinnerungen und verbessert somit das Lernen3. Donepezil verbessert die kognitive Leistung bei leichter kognitiver Beeinträchtigung (MCI) und Alzheimer-Krankheit (AD) und ist der am häufigsten verschriebene Acetylcholinesterase-Hemmer (AChEI) für AD4. Die Auswirkungen von Donepezil auf das Volumen von Hirnregionen wurden untersucht und können helfen, seine Wirksamkeit zu erklären4.

In einer kürzlich durchgeführten Studie, in der gesunde Kontrollpersonen, unbehandelte MCI-Patienten und mit Donepezil behandelte MCI-Patienten verglichen wurden, wurden die Volumina der Gehirnregionen und Tests zur Bewertung der kognitiven Funktion zu Studienbeginn und 6 Monate nach Behandlungsbeginn für die behandelte MCI-Gruppe bestimmt4. Donepezil verbesserte die Ergebnisse bei Tests der kognitiven Funktion, indem es die Bewertungen der geriatrischen Depression und der kognitiven Subskala der AD-Bewertungsskala geringfügig reduzierte, während die klinische Demenzbewertung um 14.1% und die Punktzahl bei der koreanischen Version der Mini-Mental-Zustandsprüfung um 8% signifikant gesenkt wurden 6 Monate4.

Graue Zellen (GM)-Volumina erhöhten die Nachbehandlung von Donepezil in den Putamen-, Globus pailldus- und unteren Frontalgyrus-Regionen des Gehirns signifikant, unterschieden sich jedoch nicht signifikant von der unbehandelten Gruppe, wenn das Volumen des Hippocampus untersucht wurde4. Eine längere Behandlungsdauer mit Donepezil scheint jedoch die Rate des Volumenverlusts im Hippocampus zu verringern4.

Diese positiven Wirkungen von Donepezil auf das Gehirn können durch eine Zunahme von Wachstumsfaktoren im Gehirn erklärt werden, wie z4. BDNF erhöht das neuronale Überleben, die Differenzierung und die synaptische Plastizität, während es den Abbau von Beta-Amyloid-Plaque fördert, von dem angenommen wird, dass er zu AD . beiträgt4. Die Wirkung von BDNF bietet eine prokognitive, neuroprotektive Wirkung5. Dieser Anstieg von BDNF durch Donepezil ist wahrscheinlich auf seine procholinergen Signalwege zurückzuführen, da cholinerge Agonisten die BDNF-Expression sowie die Expression des Nervenwachstumsfaktors (NGF) erhöhen6, die die Bedeutung der cholinergen Signalübertragung für die Gesundheit des Gehirns zeigt.

***

References:  

  1. Kumar A, Sharma S. Donepezil. [Aktualisiert am 2020. August 22]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2021 Jan-. Verfügbar ab: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK513257/ 
  1. Trang A, Khandhar PB. Physiologie, Acetylcholinesterase. [Aktualisiert 2020. Juli 10]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2021 Jan-. Verfügbar ab: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK539735/ 
  1. Hasselmo ME (2006). Die Rolle von Acetylcholin beim Lernen und Gedächtnis. Aktuelle Meinung in der Neurobiologie16(6), 710-715. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.conb.2006.09.002 
  1. Kim, GW., Kim, BC., Park, KS et al. Eine Pilotstudie zur Gehirnmorphometrie nach Donepezil-Behandlung bei leichter kognitiver Beeinträchtigung: Volumenänderungen der kortikalen/subkortikalen Regionen und der Hippocampus-Unterfelder. Sci Rep 10, 10912 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-020-67873-y 
  1. Miranda, M., Morici, JF, Zanoni, MB, & Bekinschtein, P. (2019). Vom Gehirn abgeleiteter neurotropher Faktor: Ein Schlüsselmolekül für das Gedächtnis im gesunden und pathologischen Gehirn. Grenzen der zellulären Neurowissenschaften13 363. https://doi.org/10.3389/fncel.2019.00363 
  1. da Penha Berzaghi M, Cooper J, Castrén E, Zafra F, Sofroniew M, Thoenen H, Lindholm D. Cholinerge Regulation des brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF) und nerve growth factor (NGF), aber nicht Neurotrophin-3 (NT-3 .) ) mRNA-Spiegel im sich entwickelnden Hippocampus der Ratte. J Neurosci. 1993 Sept;13(9):3818-26. mach: https://doi.org/10.1523/JNEUROSCI.13-09-03818.1993. PMID: 8366347; PMC-ID: PMC6576436. 

*** 

ABONNIEREN SIE UNSEREN NEWSLETTER

Aktualisierung mit den neuesten Nachrichten, Angeboten und Sonderankündigungen.

- Werbung -

Beliebteste Artikel

Übermäßige Aufnahme von Protein für das Bodybuilding kann Gesundheit und Lebensdauer beeinträchtigen

Studie an Mäusen zeigt, dass eine übermäßige langfristige Einnahme von ...

COVID-19 und Darwins natürliche Selektion beim Menschen

Mit dem Aufkommen von COVID-19 scheint es...

Klimaauswirkungen von atmosphärischem Mineralstaub: EMIT-Mission erreicht Meilenstein  

Mit ihrem ersten Blick auf die Erde hat die EMIT-Mission der NASA...
- Werbung -
99,738FansLike
69,696VerfolgerFolgen
6,319VerfolgerFolgen
31AbonnentenAbonnieren

Donepezil’s Effects on Brain Regions

Date:

Share post:

Donepezil is an acetylcholinesterase inhibitor1. Acetylcholinesterase breaks down the neurotransmitter acetylcholine2, thereby reducing acetylcholine signalling in the brain. Acetylcholine (ACh) enhances the encoding of new memories and therefore improves learning3. Donepezil improves cognitive performance in mild cognitive impairment (MCI) and Alzheimer’s disease (AD), and is the most commonly prescribed acetylcholinesterase inhibitor (AChEI) for AD4. The effects of donepezil on the volumes of brain regions has been examined and may help explain its efficacy4.

In a recent study comparing healthy controls, untreated MCI patients and MCI patients treated with donepezil, volumes of brain regions and tests evaluating cognitive function were determined at baseline and 6 months post-initiation of treatment for the treated MCI group4. Donepezil improved scores on tests of cognitive function by minorly reducing ratings on geriatric depression and AD assessment scale-cognitive subscale, whilst significantly reducing clinical dementia rating by 14.1% and significantly increasing score on Korean version of the mini-mental state examination by 8% in 6 months4.

Grey matter (GM) volumes significantly increased post-treatment of donepezil in the putamen, globus pailldus, and inferior frontal gyrus regions of the brain but did not significantly differ from the untreated group when examining volume of the hippocampus4. However, longer duration of treatment with donepezil seems to reduce the rate of loss of hippocampal volume4.

These positive effects of donepezil on the brain may be explained through an increase in growth factors in the brain such as an increase in brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF) seen in rats treated with donepezil4. BDNF increases neuronal survival, differentiation and synaptic plasticity, whilst promoting the breakdown of beta-amyloid plaque which is believed to contribute to AD4. The effects of BDNF provide a pro-cognitive, neuroprotective effect5. This increase in BDNF from donepezil is likely due to its pro-cholinergic signalling because cholinergic agonists increase BDNF expression as well as nerve growth factor (NGF) expression6, which shows the importance of cholinergic signalling for brain health.

***

References:  

  1. Kumar A, Sharma S. Donepezil. [Updated 2020 Aug 22]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2021 Jan-. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK513257/ 
  1. Trang A, Khandhar PB. Physiology, Acetylcholinesterase. [Updated 2020 Jul 10]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2021 Jan-. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK539735/ 
  1. Hasselmo M. E. (2006). The role of acetylcholine in learning and memory. Current opinion in neurobiology16(6), 710–715. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.conb.2006.09.002 
  1. Kim, GW., Kim, BC., Park, K.S. et al. A pilot study of brain morphometry following donepezil treatment in mild cognitive impairment: volume changes of cortical/subcortical regions and hippocampal subfields. Sci Rep 10, 10912 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-020-67873-y 
  1. Miranda, M., Morici, J. F., Zanoni, M. B., & Bekinschtein, P. (2019). Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor: A Key Molecule for Memory in the Healthy and the Pathological Brain. Frontiers in cellular neuroscience13, 363. https://doi.org/10.3389/fncel.2019.00363 
  1. da Penha Berzaghi M, Cooper J, Castrén E, Zafra F, Sofroniew M, Thoenen H, Lindholm D. Cholinergic regulation of brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF) and nerve growth factor (NGF) but not neurotrophin-3 (NT-3) mRNA levels in the developing rat hippocampus. J Neurosci. 1993 Sep;13(9):3818-26. doi: https://doi.org/10.1523/JNEUROSCI.13-09-03818.1993. PMID: 8366347; PMCID: PMC6576436. 

*** 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

For the benefit of students and readers (neural translation of) Scientific European is available in many languages

Deutsch Română
Français Nederlands
Русский Português
简体中文 Italiano
日本語 Български
Español Filipino
हिन्दी ગુજરાતી
العربية தமிழ்
Ελληνικά اردو
বাংলা MORE

Related articles

Stem Cell Models of Diseases: First Model of Albinism Developed

Scientists have developed the first patient-derived stem cell model of albinism. The model will help studying eye conditions...

Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM) of ISRO: New Insight into Prediction of Solar Activity

The researchers have studied the turbulence in Sun’s corona using radio signals sent to Earth by the ultra-low-cost...

‘‘A living WHO guideline on drugs for COVID-19’’: The Eighth version (Seventh update) Released

The eighth version (seventh update) of a living guideline is released. It replaces earlier versions. The latest update...

….Pale Blue Dot, the only Home We’ve Ever Known

''....astronomy is a humbling and character-building experience. There is perhaps no better demonstration of the folly of human...