Physics Nobel Prize for contributions to Attosecond Physics 

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2023 has been awarded to Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter”.  

An attosecond is one quintillionth of a second (equal to 1×10−18 second). It is so short that there are as many in one second as there have been seconds since the birth of the universe

In the world of electrons, changes occur in a few tenths of an attosecond. The special technology creates extremely short pulses of light that can be used to measure the rapid processes in which electrons move or change energy inside atoms and molecules. 

The laureates’ contributions have made “attosecond physics” a reality which has potential applications in many areas such as study of behaviour of electrons in a material, electronics and medical diagnostics.  



  1. The Nobel Prize in Physics 2023. Available at 
  1. . Press release – The Nobel Prize in Physics 2023. Posted on 3 October 2023. Available at  


Scientific European® | | Significant advances in science. Impact on humankind. Inspiring minds.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Most Popular Articles

microRNAs: New Understanding of Mechanism of Action in Viral Infections and its Significance

MicroRNAs or in short miRNAs (not to be confused...

The Oldest Evidence of Human Existence in Europe, Found in Bulgaria

Bulgaria has proven to be the oldest site in...

Stress Could Affect Development of Nervous System in Early Adolescence

Scientists have shown that environmental stress can affect normal...
- Advertisement -