WERBUNG

Warum Omicron ernst genommen werden sollte

COVID-19Warum Omicron ernst genommen werden sollte

Bisherige Beweise deuten darauf hin, dass die Omicron-Variante von SARS-CoV-2 eine hohe Übertragungsrate aufweist, aber glücklicherweise eine geringe Virulenz aufweist und normalerweise nicht zu schweren Symptomen einer COVID-19-Erkrankung oder Todesfällen führt. Bestehende Impfstoffe scheinen jedoch weniger wirksam zu sein, da eine Reihe von Durchbruchinfektionen gemeldet wurde. Bei einer großen Zahl von Omicron-Fällen mit Symptomen, die eine stationäre Behandlung erfordern Krankenhausversorgung besteht die Möglichkeit einer Überlastung des Gesundheitssystems. Eine viel ernsthaftere Bedrohung durch die Omicron-Variante ist jedoch die Möglichkeit des Auftretens jeder neuen Variante mit höherer Virulenz als Folge unzähliger serieller Passagen (Übertragungen) der Viren unter den Menschen. Offenbar war so die hochvirulente Delta-Variante aus den früheren Varianten durch sehr hohe Übertragung unter den Menschen entstanden. Daher ist es wichtig, die Übertragung des Virus zwischen Menschen einzuschränken, dh die Übertragungskette durch die Verwendung von Gesichtsmasken, physische Distanzierung und das Entmutigen von Versammlungen zu unterbrechen.   

Es gibt Berichte über Omicron und erkältungsähnliche Symptome, die in London schnell überhand nehmen.  

Laut der ZOE-COVID-Studie gibt es in Großbritannien derzeit insgesamt durchschnittlich 87,131 neue tägliche symptomatische Fälle von COVID. Ein Anstieg von 4% gegenüber 83,658 neuen täglichen Fällen in der letzten Woche. Schnupfen, Kopfschmerzen, Müdigkeit (entweder leicht oder schwer), Niesen und Halsschmerzen waren die fünf am häufigsten berichteten Symptome. Erkältungsähnliche Symptome scheinen das vorherrschende Merkmal von Omicron zu sein. In der vollständig geimpften Bevölkerung gibt es in Großbritannien derzeit 27,000 neue symptomatische Fälle pro Tag. Ein Anstieg von 6% gegenüber 25,411 neuen täglichen Fällen in der letzten Woche1.  

Angesichts umfangreicher Mutationen wurde erwartet, dass die Omicron-Variante Immunreaktionen bis zu einem gewissen Grad umgehen würde. In einer Studie mit Personen, die routinemäßig zwei Dosen plus eine Auffrischimpfung von mRNA-Impfstoffen erhalten hatten, wurden bei allen Patienten leichte bis mittelschwere COVID-19-Symptome festgestellt, was den Eindruck erweckte, dass selbst drei Dosen mRNA-Impfstoffe möglicherweise nicht ausreichen, um eine Infektion zu verhindern und symptomatische Symptome zu vermeiden Erkrankung2. In ähnlicher Weise beobachteten die Forscher in einer anderen Studie, die die Verabreichung von Auffrischungsdosen des inaktivierten Virus-COVID-19-Impfstoffs BBIBP-CorV umfasste, eine signifikante Erholung bei der Neutralisierung der Immunantwort gegen SARS-CoV-2, jedoch zeigte die Omicron-Variante ein umfangreiches, aber unvollständiges Entweichen der ausgelösten Auffrischimpfung Neutralisation3

Ungeachtet der Fälle von Impfstoffdurchbrüchen sind Omicron-Fälle normalerweise nicht mit schweren COVID-19-Symptomen verbunden. Bisher wurde in Großbritannien nur ein Omicron-Todesfall gemeldet. Bei einer großen Zahl von Omicron-Fällen mit Symptomen, die eine stationäre Krankenhausversorgung erfordern, besteht jedoch die Gefahr einer Überlastung des Gesundheitssystems. Aber viele ernsthafte Bedrohungen sind mit seiner hochansteckenden Natur verbunden.   

Es wurde festgestellt, dass die Omicron-Variante mehr als viermal infektiöser oder übertragbarer ist als die Delta-Variante. In weniger als einem Monat, seit Omicron erstmals in Südafrika gemeldet wurde, hat es sich weltweit verbreitet. Anfangs waren die entdeckten Fälle reisebedingt, aber jetzt erleben die meisten der betroffenen Länder ein hohes Maß an Übertragungen durch die Gemeinschaft. Eine hohe Übertragungsrate ist bedenklich, da zahlreiche serielle Passagen des Virus unter den Infizierten dazu beitragen können, dass in Zukunft eine virulentere Variante entsteht.  

Coronaviren fehlt die Korrekturlese-Nukleaseaktivität ihrer Polymerasen, daher bleiben Replikationsfehler unkorrigiert, die sich anhäufen und zu Mutationen beitragen. Mehr Übertragungen bedeuten mehr Replikationsfehler, daher akkumulieren sich mehr Mutationen im viralen Genom, was zur Entstehung neuer Varianten führt. Menschliche Coronaviren haben in der jüngeren Geschichte Mutationen aufgebaut, um neue Varianten zu schaffen4. Offenbar war so die hochvirulente Delta-Variante durch sehr hohe Übertragung unter den Menschen aus den früheren Varianten hervorgegangen. 

Angesichts der Weihnachts- und Neujahrsfeierlichkeiten hat die Gefahr des Auftretens einer neuen Variante mit höherer Virulenz infolge unzähliger serieller Passagen (Übertragungen) der Viren unter den Menschen viele Länder wie die Niederlande, Großbritannien und Frankreich gezwungen, sich durchzusetzen Lockdown-ähnliche Einschränkungen. 

Die Begrenzung der Übertragung und das Unterbrechen der Übertragungskette ist der Schlüssel. Die guten alten Praktiken der Verwendung von Gesichtsmasken, der physischen Distanzierung und der Vermeidung großer Versammlungen sollten sehr hilfreich sein.  

*** 

References:   

  1. ZOE COVID-Studie, 2021. Datenpressemitteilung – Omikron und erkältungsähnliche Symptome nehmen in London schnell zu. Veröffentlicht am 16. Dezember 2021. Online verfügbar unter https://covid.joinzoe.com/post/omicron-and-cold-like-symptoms-rapidly-taking-over-in-london 
  1. Kuhlmann C., et al 2021. Durchbruch bei Infektionen mit SARS-CoV-2-Omicron-Variante trotz Booster-Dosis des mRNA-Impfstoffs. Veröffentlicht: 9. Dezember 2021. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.2139/ssrn.3981711 
  1. Yu X., et al 2021. Die pseudotypisierte SARS-CoV-2-Omicron-Variante zeigt ein signifikantes Entgehen der Neutralisation, die durch eine dritte Auffrischimpfung induziert wird. Vordruck medRxiv. Gepostet am 18. Dezember 2021. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.12.17.21267961 
  1. Prasad U., 2021. Varianten des Coronavirus: Was wir bisher wissen. Wissenschaftlicher Europäer. Veröffentlicht am 12. Juli 2021. Online verfügbar unter https://www.scientificeuropean.co.uk/covid-19/variants-of-coronavirus-what-we-know-so-far/ 

*** 

Umesh Prasad
Umesh Prasadhttps://www.UmeshPrasad.org
Chefredakteur, Scientific European

ABONNIEREN SIE UNSEREN NEWSLETTER

Aktualisierung mit den neuesten Nachrichten, Angeboten und Sonderankündigungen.

- Werbung -

Beliebteste Artikel

Ein neuer zahnmontierter Nutrition Tracker

Jüngste Studie hat einen neuen zahnmontierten Tracker entwickelt...

Ein einzigartiges Textilgewebe mit selbstanpassender Wärmeemission

Das erste temperaturempfindliche Textil ist entstanden, das...
- Werbung -
99,750FansLike
69,697VerfolgerFolgen
6,319VerfolgerFolgen
31AbonnentenAbonnieren

Why Omicron Should be Taken Seriously

Date:

Share post:

Evidences so far suggest that Omicron variant of SARS-CoV-2 has high transmission rate but fortunately is low on virulence and is not usually leading to severe symptoms of COVID-19 disease or deaths. But existing vaccines seem to be less effective as number of breakthrough infections have been reported. In the event of large number of Omicron cases with symptoms requiring in-patient hospital care, there is a possibility of health system being overwhelmed. However, much more serious threat posed by the Omicron variant is the possibility of emergence of any new variant with higher virulence as a result of innumerable serial passages (transmissions) of the viruses among the people. Apparently, this is how the highly virulent delta variant had come into being from the earlier variants through very high degree of transmission among the people. Therefore, restricting passage of the virus among people i.e., breaking transmission chain through the use of facemasks, physical distancing and discouraging gatherings is the key.   

There is report of Omicron and cold-like symptoms rapidly taking over in London.  

According to ZOE COVID Study, in total there are currently 87,131 new daily symptomatic cases of COVID in the UK on average. An increase of 4% from 83,658 new daily cases last week. Running nose, headache, fatigue (either mild or severe), sneezing and sore throat were the top five symptoms reported. Cold-like symptoms appear to be the predominant feature of Omicron. In the fully vaccinated population, there are currently 27,000 new daily symptomatic cases in the UK. An increase of 6% from 25,411 new daily cases last week1.  

In view of extensive mutations, it was expected that Omicron variant would evade immune responses to some extent. In a study on individuals who had received routine two doses plus a booster dose of mRNA vaccines, all patients were found to experience mild to moderate COVID-19 symptoms giving impression that even three doses of mRNA vaccines may not be sufficient to prevent infection and symptomatic disease2. Similarly, in another study involving administration of booster doses of inactivated virus COVID-19 vaccine BBIBP-CorV, the researchers observed a significant rebound in neutralizing immune response against SARS-CoV-2 however the Omicron variant showed extensive but incomplete escape of the booster elicited neutralization3

Notwithstanding vaccine breakthrough cases, Omicron cases are usually not associated with severe COVID-19 symptoms. Only one Omicron related death has been reported in the UK till date. However, in the event of large number of Omicron cases with symptoms requiring in-patient hospital care, there is a risk of health system being overwhelmed. But much serious threat is associated with its highly infectious nature.   

It is established that Omicron variant is over four times more infectious or transmissible than the delta variant. In less than a month since Omicron was reported first in South Africa, it has spread worldwide. Initially, the detected cases were travel-related, but now most of the affected countries are witnessing high level of community transmission. High transmission rate is a matter of concern because numerous serial passages of the virus among the infected people may contribute in emergence of more virulent variant in future.  

Coronaviruses lack proofreading nuclease activity of their polymerases hence replication errors remain uncorrected which accumulate and contribute in mutations. More transmissions mean more replication errors hence more mutations accumulate in the viral genome leading to emergence of new variants. Human coronaviruses have been building up mutations to create new variants in the recent history4. Apparently, this is how the highly virulent delta variant had emerged from the earlier variants through very high degree of transmission among the people. 

With Christmas and New Year celebrations on its way, the risk of emergence of any new variant with higher virulence as a result of innumerable serial passages (transmissions) of the viruses among the people has forced many countries such as Netherland, UK and France to impose lockdown like restrictions. 

Limiting transmission and breaking the transmission chain is the key. The good old practices of use of facemasks, physical distancing and avoiding large gatherings should be very helpful.  

*** 

References:   

  1. ZOE COVID Study, 2021. Data Press Release – Omicron and cold-like symptoms rapidly taking over in London. Published December 16, 2021. Available online at https://covid.joinzoe.com/post/omicron-and-cold-like-symptoms-rapidly-taking-over-in-london 
  1. Kuhlmann C., et al 2021. Breakthrough Infections with SARS-CoV-2 Omicron Variant Despite Booster Dose of mRNA Vaccine. Published: 9 December 2021. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.2139/ssrn.3981711 
  1. Yu X., et al 2021. Pseudotyped SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variant exhibits significant escape from neutralization induced by a third booster dose of vaccination. Preprint medRxiv. Posted December 18, 2021. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.12.17.21267961 
  1. Prasad U., 2021. Variants of Coronavirus: What We Know So Far. Scientific European. Posted 12 July 2021. Available online at https://www.scientificeuropean.co.uk/covid-19/variants-of-coronavirus-what-we-know-so-far/ 

*** 

Umesh Prasadhttps://www.UmeshPrasad.org
Chief Editor, Scientific European

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

For the benefit of students and readers (neural translation of) Scientific European is available in many languages

Deutsch Română
Français Nederlands
Русский Português
简体中文 Italiano
日本語 Български
Español Filipino
हिन्दी ગુજરાતી
العربية தமிழ்
Ελληνικά اردو
বাংলা MORE

Related articles

Stem Cell Models of Diseases: First Model of Albinism Developed

Scientists have developed the first patient-derived stem cell model of albinism. The model will help studying eye conditions...

Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM) of ISRO: New Insight into Prediction of Solar Activity

The researchers have studied the turbulence in Sun’s corona using radio signals sent to Earth by the ultra-low-cost...

‘‘A living WHO guideline on drugs for COVID-19’’: The Eighth version (Seventh update) Released

The eighth version (seventh update) of a living guideline is released. It replaces earlier versions. The latest update...

….Pale Blue Dot, the only Home We’ve Ever Known

''....astronomy is a humbling and character-building experience. There is perhaps no better demonstration of the folly of human...